Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Elkhorn Creek in Franklin County, photo by David Hargis

Division of Conservation
Soil and Water Conservation Commission

The policies under which the division operates are set by the Kentucky Soil and Water Conservation Commission.  This commission is made up of nine district supervisors from across the state appointed to serve by the secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet, with approval from the governor.  The commission members have the responsibility to assist local conservation districts in carrying out their responsibilities.

Area 1: Scott Parsons, Vice-Chairman (Christian County)
Area 2: Jeff Rice (Daviess County)
Area 3: Danny Shipley, Secretary (Allen County)
Area 4: Ray Adams, Chairman (Jefferson County)
Area 5: Marc Hult (Kenton County)
Area 6: Billy Doolin (Garrard County)
Area 7: Don Minton (Pulaski County)
Area 8: Sam Hughes (Rowan County)
Area 9: Denise Hoffman (Owsley County)

Commission Advisory Members:
Secretary of the Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
Kentucky Commissioner of Agriculture
Director of the Kentucky Agricultural Experiment Station
Director of Kentucky Vocational Education
Kentucky State Conservationist for U.S. Department of Agriculture  

2018 commission meetings
Unless otherwise specified, meetings are held at 9 a.m. at 300 Sower Boulevard in Frankfort. Dates are as follows:

  • March 5 - Environmental Grant Committee meeting (to be held at 250 Sportsmans Lake Road in Elizabethtown at 1 p.m.)  Agenda
  • March 19
  • May 21 
  • July 8 at the KACD Convention in Owensboro
  • Sept. 17
  • Nov. 19

 Recent Commission Minutes

Commission Minutes 09-17-2018
Commission Minutes 07-08-2018
Commission Minutes 05-21-2018
Commission Minutes 03-19-2018
Joint Meeting Minutes 02-11-2018